2004-10-26 � rainy daze

Rain, rain go away...

this post is dedicated to penelope the p, industrious, illustrious inventor of illustration fridays (which I will one day participate in. really!)...

O people. It's been all rainy daze / days and drizzle since I posted last. The sun disappeared for the better part of a week, stealing away my energy and reducing me to a cold, sodden mess.

I was tired... bone tired. And achy and dull-witted and completely outta sorts. I could think of nothing intriguing to post here. Everything in my head was lumpish and grey, like three day old porridge, topped with election angst and leaking hot water heaters. And, really... who wants three day old porridge?! (as for the leaking hot water heater... no one wants that! Certainly not me. The better part of my life is spent submerged in the bathtub and the hot water is of critical importance. That the heater is leaking is NOT good news. That it may have to be replaced entirely is not much more comforting and the fact that the warranty expired twelve days before the leak was discovered is downright insulting. 'Cuz water heaters? are very unsexy, very expensive things. Sigh. The dude from the water heater company is coming on Thursday to survey the damage. Fingers crossed, it's an easy repair and won't cost thousands upon thousands.)

But I'm official cleansing myself of the three day porridge! the bowl is in the dishwasher and if any lumpy, fossilized bits remain clinging determinedly to the sides when it re-emerges, I will scrape them off with my fingernail or pry them off with a crowbar. Because this morning the sun appeared, finally, finally, and my energy levels are bumping ever gradually toward normal and Halloween is just around the corner. And I loves me the Halloween!!!

Photos above taken through the rain splashed windshield of my car on the way home from the wolf walk (which must continue DAILY in spite of rain and lumpishness and pesky, energy-defeating viruses. Not to mention ailing water heaters, don't cha know!) last week. I'm feeling guilty about the profound lack of illustration up here lately, but I've been devoting my illustrative energies (which flagged along with the rest of me) to the book I'm working on. I promise you an illustration before Halloween.


A few of the delightful links that cheered me during the sodden lumpishness:

Hexie Hollow

Wee Wonderfuls

Bob Dob illustration

Chris Van Allsburg illustration

Adam Walko illustration

Illustrator Snowflakes for sale!

Jingles finally got a blog!! Jingles all the way!

Illustrator Snowflakes for sale! Just in case you didn't catch it the first time


Click here to add your comment [ 8 comments so far ]


last | next