2003-09-19 � Soggy Doggy Day

All Weather Wolf

O man. I thought I was going to get away with it today. I thought fer sure, today of all days, in the midst of tropical storm Isabel, I'd have one single morning sans wolf walk. Yeah. Not.

See, this morning when I went into the bedroom to check on the wolf, she was flopped out in full mope mode just as she has been since about 9:30 last evening when her internal storm watch system suddenly sounded the alarm and she dropped her tennis ball mid-chomp, tucked her tail between her legs and slunk up to bed to wait it out. Take a look at the photographic evidence here. Does this look like a dog who has any intention of going out in the heavy "tropical" rain and chasing sticks and squirrels?

The answer in short: No. The answer in long: No way, Jose. But then, like ten minutes after I took this picture, she suddenly sat bolt upright and started feverishly sniffing the air.

Buried deep in her sniffly snoot, all microscopic like, transmitters twitched and radar blipped and the teensy tiny Dennis Quaids that man her Inner Space storm centre sounded the all clear and suddenly the Wolf was good to go. She leapt all over me, washing me with her tongue, her tail fanning frantically behind her, batting me with her paws and then she went sailing off the bed in search of a leash to drag about hopefully.

So out in the sog we trooped, me in my sorry excuse for a slicker, my eye ever watchful for foliage festooned missiles which might come shooting from the woods to knock us unconscious.

And now I'm wind whipped and dripping and way behind in my tiger painting. And the wolf is snoozing contentedly in a puddle of rain water. sigh.

P.S. See that little glint in her nostril up there in the second picture? I think that might be the shining beacon of one of the teeny Dennis Quaids, flashing out that everything is A-okay. Yup.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next