2002-11-01 � November chill

November Chill

I can scarcely believe it's November already. October vanished like a ghost, evaporating quickly, as ghosts are wont to do. I'm missing it already.

I awoke to find myself solidly seated in an indubitably November state of mind this morning... somber and owlish, filled with a kind of unnamed dread. Year after year, despite innumerable promises to myself to do otherwise, I shuffle through November as if plodding home to Mom with a not so stellar report card stuffed deep in my pocket, frown pressed upon my brow in grim anticipation of the lecture that's sure to come. Bleak days of introspection and self-reproach stretching endlessly before me.

O November. I want to love you, I do. Must you always make it so difficult?

My morning walk with the wolf did much to improve my mood, I have to admit. We have discovered some new trails in our beloved park, and they are still spectacularly arrayed in fall finery. There is one particular section of the path that truly stirs my soul when the light is just right and the wind sweeps through with all of autumn's gentle persuasion, lifting golden leaves from the trees and sending them showering down in soft circles. O, it leaves me breathless. I stand in the centre of all that glory and can literally feel my spirits lifting, unfurling like a flag.

And I can see that that same section of the wood will be just as spectacular in the hush of winter. So that's a little something to look forward to, no? The first great snowfall and the first magical morning I wake to find hoar frost glazing the trees, glistening and pristine. I resolve now that when that morning comes, the wolf and I will take an extra long and admiring stroll and then come home to bake chocolate chip cookies and listen to music all day long, pausing frequently to gaze out the windows and count our blessings. Maybe November won't be so bad after all. Maybe it will be just fine.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next