2005-01-03 � me and my ferocious dog

Icy Blue

Ta-dah! A new January topper. Ain't it purty? Dunno how long it's staying up there. I mean, I like it and all. It's all blue and wintery and mysterious. There's a ghostly picture of me in there and a ghostly picture of my darling doggity. And there's lyrics from my current favourite song, "Everyone Reminds Me of My Dog" by Jane Siberry. But... sigh. Well, it's really not representative of the Wee you've come to know and love now is it? I know. It looks like it belongs atop one of those sulky, serious blogs where the blogketeer forgoes talk of mice and pink tongued dogs for windy, withering and frequently cryptic diatribes against lost loves and such. Not so much my bag.

It is, in a word, creepy. Don'tcha think? Spooky at least. Although, let's face it... December's mouse was also a little creepy what with the fixed zombie stare and such. To tell you the truth, I kinda wish I could pull this look off. I kinda wish I was a spooky girl. Mysterious, at least. Complex. But I'm just not. Nope. I tried the Goth thing in university. I worked really hard at it. But despite having all the appropriate albums and earrings, I could never pull it off with any degree of authenticity. I'm all white bread and neighbourly and furry and stuff. And short. Short girls aren't scary. Well, whatever. It will do for now.

So. Now you're going all squinty and blind trying to read the teeny tiny type there, aren't you? Well, stoppit. You're never gonna be able to read it. You're just gonna wind up with smudgy nose prints on your screen. Here, let me help you out:

Everything Reminds Me of My Dog by Jane Siberry

everything reminds me of my dog
the guy in the store
telephones...yoohoo
taxicabs

if you remind me of my dog we'll probably git along little doggie git along
git along little doggie git along...

smiling at strangers (better let them know you're friendly)
the way people dress reminds me too, pissing on their favourite tree
sad things
cockroaches and other insects remind me too, don't hit them!
the blank expression of the little boy with thick glasses who picks
himself up from the sidewalk and stands there blinking in the sun

if you remind me of my dog we'll probably git along little doggie git along
git along little doggie git along...
like the man on the subway
sitting across from me
and every time i looked at him he smiled
and by the time
i got to the end of the subway line
i'd given him at least...oh...25 cookies

guys in bars remind me of my dog
the way it takes you so long to choose the perfect table

if you remind me of my dog we'll probably git along little doggie git along
git along little doggie git along

me and my ferocious dog we're walking down the street
and everyone we meet says "ach yer a goot doggie!..."
except when we go for a walk
to get the sunday paper
i stand there and read the headlines
he reads the wind
sometimes he hits a funny smell and laughs
i hate it when he does that-i feel so dumb
what? what? i say

everything reminds me of my dog
beautiful things
sunsets remind me of my dog-gina go to your window
einstein reminds me of my dog-i want to pat his fluffy head
this whole world reminds me of my dog
my dog reminds me of this whole world
do i remind you of a dog?(thump thump) i do? (faster thump)
skyscrapers remind me of my dog sitting in the tall grass waiting for a rabbit
guys in red camaros too-it's getting to be a habit
artists remind me of my dog staking out their originality on the nearest tree
old folks remind me of my dog
my dog reminds old people of their dogs (barfy, ruffo, beanhead)
gina says i remind her of the dog the way i just did that
golfers teeing off remind me of my dog the way he sits by me and shifts on his front paws
what is it you want? look at it, do you want to go for a walk, want a cookie, do you want me
to dial the number for you


Enchanting, no?!! This could be my theme song, my own personal anthem. I never paid all that much attention to Jane Siberry until about a month ago when her song "Hockey" came on CBC radio while I was stuck in traffic and I found myself tumbling head over heels for her quirky lyrics and melodies. The minute I got home, I rushed upstairs to download it from iTunes. And then the title of "Reminds me of My Dog" caught my eye, and well, swoon. I loves it.

So, anyhoo. There you have it. It's a whole new look for a whole new year.


Click here to add your comment [ 13 comments so far ]


last | next