2004-11-18 � tinsel stars and thread

Not a creature was stirring...

Ta-dah! Introducing a new theme to carry me through the holiday season. Mice! It's all about mice. And for some reason, mice must always be accompanied by spools of thread. It's actually federally mandated in Canada. Really. There's a law which states explicitly that any depiction of a mouse must be accompanied by at least one spool of thread. Other teeny sewing implements such as thimbles and buttons are strongly recommended, but not subject to law. It's true. Really, really. Would I lie to you?!* But I'm straying off topic here. The point is that just as I vowed in my last post, I've found a mood and strapped it on. Stapled it to my soul. It's all about celebrating the little things, especially little things with pink eyes (or alternately, slightly larger things with pink tongues.)


On a recommendation from the fabulous Erica, I bought the christmas edition of Mary Engelbreit's Home Companion especially for the feature of Jennifer Murphy. I sat down with my sketchbook an hour after flipping through the pages and off the tip of my pen came this wooly little mouse, inspired by Ms. Murphy's mitten mice. And I adore him. But he needs a name. Any suggestions? I was thinking something Murphy. Tinsel Murphy the Third? Chompers Murphy? Mistletoe Murphy? Murphy Mouse? hmmm.

Completely unrelated: I forgot to tell you. On Halloween night, I got the usual assortment of princesses and pirates, but one trick-or-treater stood out in particular. One boy came dressed as Donald Trump complete with lame combover exactly the same hue as the Donald's! It was the coolest! And he was carrying a homemade briefcase with a secret opening to put the candy into. THE BEST! Needless to say, I loaded him up with the good stuff. No cheapo rockets for this kid. It was mini M&Ms and Aero bars and Tootsie Pops all the way!

Future Randomness: I shared this story on Bluepoppy's page earlier today, but I just have to post this spectacular blonde moment here! ( I like to refer to my own lapses of brain-full-ness as blonde moments in my ever-so-charming self-deprecating fashion). It goes like this: Yesterday morning in the park, just having finished walking the woof, I loaded Finny J. into the backseat then walked ALL THE WAY AROUND THE CAR and got into the passenger seat. Wait. It gets better. I then turned expectantly toward the driver seat as if a chauffeur was gonna magically manifest in a fit of pink sparkles or something and sat there for about 30 seconds before I realized, uh! duh. I'M the driver! ME! The doofus with the keys clutched in her hand! Thankfully, only Finny witnessed the brain fart. And she eats bunny poo, so she's got no leg to stand on. Of course, now that I've shared it with the entire blogosphere, I've created a whole legion of virtual witnesses but you know, whatever.

* In fact, I would. And just did. Although, I wouldn't so much call it a lie as a much as a falsehood. A teeny tiny pink-eyed fib. The law actually states that depictions of white mice must be accompanied by a thread spool. It's very specific. And if the spool features a label, that label must be written in English and French. I'm so not joshing.


Click here to add your comment [ 15 comments so far ]


last | next