2004-11-09 � nicolis

lost and found


So, this weekend, in between the flinging of computer manuals and the cursing and the crying and stuff, I listened to CBC Radio. And on the radio, they were interviewing the... er... founder of Found Magazine. He was asked what his all-time fave discovery was and he told the tale of stumbling across a jar of formaldehyde in which floated the corpse of a baby lamprey eel. And stuck to the lid was a Post-it which read "self-conscious and flaky."

self-conscious and flaky.

I almost peed my pants. Just goes to show you that even lamprey eels have problems. Granted, they're likely not computer related (unless, of course, it was a lamprey eel that fried in my hard drive last week thus effectively annihilating the last grim shred of sanity I had left) but still...

I loves me the found stuff. Debris from the elementary school at the end of our block is always tangling in our shrubs. Notes to the teacher asking that Little Ashley or Mackenzie or Frank Junior be excused for a dental appointment, pages of poetry about farm animals, work sheets, lunch menus and once even an uncashed check for fourteen dollars and 52 cents. okay, I made the 52 cents part up. I don't remember how many cents there were.

But the best find by far was Jack's. He found Nicolis. And there is something so forlorn and yet so scrappy about Nicolis. Just look at him on that sad, rotting chair, all orange spotted and pink nosed. Awww. I wonder what became of Nicolis. He's probably weighs like 94 pounds now and has a pink collar with bells on it and a good nick outta his left ear inflicted by a cranky squirrel.

What do you think?


Click here to add your comment [ 12 comments so far ]


last | next