2004-11-07 � Leaping

swearing like a sailor

Okay. Well, that was...uh...harrowing.

Last week was not good. It was, in fact, all sorts of evil and ick on practically every front ranging from the sad American election results to my rampant computer woes and all sorts of stuff inbetween. I am still reeling, but $700 later, my computer is up and running with a new hard drive, the swift Panther OS and a spanking new and frankly intimidating Photoshop upgrade.

I have, it would appear, entered a new age.

I managed to rescue some stuff, but lost a ton of other stuff including all my iTunes library, all my bookmarks, about 200 photos, most of my font collection, a few illustrations I didn't back-up and everything I had done on the second Jungleville book. Sigh. I do have my original sketches, thankfully (I always start with a pencil sketch even when working digitally), but I am seriously behind now. sigh the second. I am still in the process of reloading all my software and it is going to take some time before I am as fluid with my newly installed Photoshop CS as I was with Photoshop 5.5, but I will get there eventually.

I must pause now to listen to you gasping in horror. Yes, Photoshop 5.5. How lamecore is that?!! I've been living in the dark ages with my prehistoric software (fuelled by matchsticks and coal and further powered by little underground donkeys) and though I switched to Mac OS 10.2 when I bought my PowerMac G4 two years ago, I never bothered to upgrade my software. I did everything in "classic mode" (which will mean absolutely nothing to you PC users). You see, I'm just not technically gifted and I tend to stick with tried and true methods for as long as I possibly can utilizing the all-purpose "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" approach to all things electronic. But then, you know, it broke. And so finally, I've made the leap. Just so you know, my leaping usually involves a credit card and lots of cursing. And the Cursing is sometimes partnered with dramatic hand-flapping, pathetic moans and copious foot-stomping.

So here wee are. Though painful, I think this is good. Clean slate all around. It's energized me, focused me. don't worry if the updates here are few and far between. It just means I'm slogging away trying to get back up to speed.

And now I must figure out why all my punctuation is screwed and I can't make a question mark.... excuse me.


Click here to add your comment [ 8 comments so far ]


last | next