2004-10-29 � Happy Halloween

Putting the "Wee" in Hallowe'en since 2002!


Saturday Morning Update: O, Internet! I'm so incredibly addicted to you. I had no idea. Okay, I had some idea. But seriously...this is bad. This is worse than when I quit smoking. (Yes, I was once indeed an evil tobacco fiend.)

This morning, I turned on my computer to check my e-mail and it would not open!!! All I got was this alarming little folder with a flashing question mark. Jack and I toiled furiously reloading system software and doing every diagnostic thins we no how to do, but to no avail. I had to pack my beloved Mac up in its box and take it off to be repaired by techie gurus who will not even look at it till Monday. ARGH! I feel as if I've had an arm severed or something. I've been reduced to having to use aged public library equipment! And let me tell you, my site looks very weird to me on this computer. Does it always look this weird? The colours are all wrong. It looked weird on the Fancy pants flat screens at the Mac place too. Why have you not been reporting this weirdness? Haven't you noticed?!! Argh the second. and third and fourth. Argh ad nauseum!

But in truth, how weird and crappy my site looks on other computer monitors is the least of my concerns. I have scores and scores of stuff on my hard drive that has not been backed up. (quick prayer to the fearsome, mercurial Techie Gods: Please, please don't let them have to erase my hard drive! I promise I will back everything up religiously and never leave crumbs in my keyboard and be nice to kitties and old people and sacrifice a few virgins or whatever I have too... but please don't wipe my drives!!)

So... in short I am forced to take a bit of a sebbatical from the blogosphere. I can't check my e-mail or work or ANYTHING!!! I hope this situation is very, very temporary. ARGH!!! So, you know... ack.

And Internet? This is practically the scariest Halloween I've ever experienced. I know, I know... it could be worse. Believe me, I'm grateful that no human lives (or canine, for that matter or maybe even especially) are actually involved in this debacle, because then I'd really be freaking out. But still....sigh. Oh well. At least we didn't have to replace the hot water heater. turns out it was a leaky valve and an easy repair. Fingers crossed my electronic emergency turns out as well!


Click here to add your comment [ 10 comments so far ]


last | next