2004-08-29 � anxious for autumn

Pumpkin Spice

There is a mug of hot chocolate at my elbow, a heavenly pumpkin spice candle burning on my desk. I am wearing my cozy new chocolate brown hoodie and I have just finished sharing the first apple we have ever grown ourselves with Jack and Finny J and it was delicious. It was tart and crisp and snapping with Fall flavour and now it is official. I am ready for Autumn.

I gotta tell you. It's looking jammed packed. I start illustration on the second Jungleville Tales book this week (yahoo!) and my inlaws arrive on Jack's B-day (September 15th) for a little visit. Also that weekend we have a wedding to attend, a big fancy schmancy affair at a downtown hotel which will be chock-a-block with celebrities in town for the Toronto Film Festival. I have been promised a peek at Orlando Bloom. I would rather peek at Johnny Depp in pirate gear or Mark Ruffalo in just about anything, but I'll settle for Orlando, I guess. And then, the following weekend, we have another fancy schmancy wedding to attend which actually involves a celebrity (of the minor, musical sort) and then there is all the usual stuff. You know, harvesting of the crops and ancient pagan rituals and sacrifices and stuff.

But I have promised myself that no matter how busy it is, I will carve out time to drink it all in. There is a big apple farm not far from here, the sort where you can pick your own and they have hay rides and petting zoo and pie sales. I am vowing here and now, that one delicious autumn afternoon, I am going to play hooky. I am going to grab my camera and hop in the car and I'm going to track that apple farm down and I am going to take myself for a wee adventure.

Bring. It. On.

The Most Bewitching Blue Puppy

If you haven't already discovered her for yourself, please let me introduce you to the fabulous Bluepoppy who never fails to astound me with her generousity of spirit, her rapier wit, her startling intelligence or her stunning ability to create characters so vivid and real you can actually smell them. She's tough and tender and she actually lived in Paris for a time . Meeting her has changed my world just a bit and I am utterly bewitched by her. She is just that magical!

Monday Morning Update

So far this morning I have tried out Jack's new, electronic rotating toothbrush, subscribed to Martha Stewart's KIDS magazine, decided on a haircut (appointment on Thursday afternoon), rescued a scruffy little dog with a green leash who had been accidentally left behind on the street and was wandering dangerously close to traffic and painted my toenails. woo hoo. Productive! Now, despite the fact I'm feeling ready for a nap, I am off to walk the wolf. No rest for the wicked.


Click here to add your comment [ 6 comments so far ]


last | next