2004-08-10 � space oddity

Ground Control to Major Mel...

O little bloggie vessel for the keeping of big words, sunny whimsies and witty things to entertain the masses.... you are looking a little short on letterforms these days. Hmmm... yes, there's been a definite dearth of actual writing here lately. I know.

I am in a hyper visual state of mind these days. Which is good. Illustrators should be hyper visual as much as possible, no? It's all about the color and the texture and the line and the form and I write out a word like "gnocci" and all I can think about is "My! what a sexy G that is! A sexy G and two snuggly Cs and look at that peppy little i on the tail end, like a narrow little man. I'm going to draw a narrow little man with excellent posture and a round little head now." Only I don't, in fact, think it in words... I think it in images. And I do not pause at all to even contemplate why I'm employing the word "gnocci" anyway, whether I am spelling it correctly, punctuating it properly. I don't think about what context I'm going to use it or how odd a word it is. Nope. I'm just all pleased that it looks cute and quirky and there's a straight little man with a round head involved.

This tends to have a limiting effect on my conversations and my blogging potential. For instance, last night Jack came in while I was busy doodling and asked me what i want to do about dinner. He apparently asked me (loudly) three times before it registered that he was actually expecting some sort of response. I just kinda stared at him, thinking about how his green t-shirt was almost exactly the same shade as the wall and how he was framed in the doorway and how much closer his head is to the ceiling than mine and what it must be like to view things from that great vantage and sometimes I try to see like he does, standing on a stool and looking round and noting the dusty tops of things I never see, but I imagine it's not quite the same. And hey... I should try drawing stuff while seated at a great height!

And then he said "Salad? Would you like a salad?" and I started picturing big bowls of leafy greens with tantalizing squares of red pepper, zesty shavings of carrot and white, papery circles of red trimmed radishes and assorted nutty bits. Groping for the appropriate words to attach to the image, I nodded vaguely, more occupied watching my interior illustrator render my dim-wittedness as a great humped-backed and hairy beast with thick fingers, leaden feet the size of canoes and soap in his eye (yes, singular) overturn furniture and bat blindly at cobwebs as he stumbled about trying to secure the giggling, galloping S and A and L to the preaffixed A and D with velcro tape.

Generally, this visual preoccupation of mine leads to lots of shrugging and eye-rolling and heavy sighs from my more sentient housemates (namely Jack and the Beanpup). And little in the way of blog enteries.

I'd apologize, but I'm not really very sorry. I'm having great fun in here with all these pretty pictures pinging and popping like little cartoon bubbles and writing this entry is requiring a great deal of concentration and discipline I can ill afford to spare !!!

Okay. Whew! I'm done. I said what I had to say and it was exhausting. But good, right? It was good? For you, I mean? Because personally... I was sort of thinking about something else. Something pink maybe. No, it was blue. And it mighta been striped. Not like a tiger, though. More like a tent awning or matress ticking. hmmm... and I think there was a muppet involved. Like Sweetums, but with only one eye. and he was looking for something, but he had soap in his eye, see? and he was waving his hands like this and....



Click here to add your comment [ 8 comments so far ]


last | next