2004-05-04 � green with envy

It's a spring thing

Spring is kicking into high gear round these parts, creating all sorts of loveliness and causing little twittery birds to scurry and rattle in the eavestroughs of the neighbourhood houses in a noisy and worrisome fashion. I suspect they're building little nests up there and I keep glancing at the drain pipes expecting to see a little robin blue egg or puffy yellow chick roll out the chute like a gumball out of a machine.

Unfortunately, Spring seems to have bent whatever freaky little mechanism it is in my head that makes me want to update. These days have been all about what to do with the positively barren backyard and not so much about the plotting of charming little stories to log in here.

I've been feverishly buying gardening magazines and pouring over the images of massive shady estates that bear no resemblance whatsoever to my sad slice of surburbia and lying in the grass, nose planted squarely in sporadic, sunny dandelions, wondering what it would be like to be so itty bitty that the landscape..indeed, the entire world! looked like the little square above. I've also developed a crush on The Pickles' (neighbors next door) lawn which is astoundingly, enviably lush and green. I keep consoling myself with the fact that they employ one of those pricey lawn services whilst ours is of the do-it-yourself (and therefore patchy and yellowed) variety. Ha! But my shrubs are nicer although one clump of tulips seems to have developed some odd ailment over the winter and are all twisted and gnarled and really rather gruesome. I'll have to replace the bulbs next fall, I think. Fortunately, the "spring green" tulips I love so much are budding up nicely and should be open in about a week.

And so I'm off to the nursery now to purchase a new hose nozzel, some mulch and quite possibly some new shrubs to help fuel my elaborate plans for a backyard retreat. And some windchimes.... I need some windchimes. The really grating, impossibly loud kind to irritate the perfect Pickles with their perfectly green, perfectly manicured lawn and sad lack of foliage. I intend to be green in every way possible this year.


Click here to add your comment [ 6 comments so far ]


last | next