2004-03-19 � A mutt's mutt

Dog Day Afternoon



This is a portrait I did a while ago of a neighbourhood dog I sometimes see strolling the streets. It doesn't quite capture him adequately, unfortunately, which is why I didn't post it sooner. I was intending to go back and rework it. But he is kinda cute, and I thought you all deserved an update of some sort.

This dog is the muttsy-est mutt I have ever seen, a dog of complicated lineage for sure, with a long sausage shaped little body, stubby legs, a head about three times too big for the rest of his body, plenty of white fly-away scruff, apricot spots and ears that flop in the wind. His belly is always black with mud, like he just washed his underside in a puddle, and he is always wearing an expression of cautious optimism as if he's in a thoroughly giddy mood despite himself and is plotting somesort of mad doggie mayhem. I adore him utterly. I have no idea what his name is, but I imagine it's something like Higgins or Marvin or Biscuit.

Still swamped with the dino drawings, but I'm nearing the end. Just wanted to pop in this pup pic and wish you all a joy-filled weekend!


Click here to add your comment [ 7 comments so far ]


last | next