2004-02-03 � scowl and snort

I'd Rather Be Hibernating

I feel like a bear with a sore head. This winterness seems interminable.

Sometimes, I wonder if I have seasonal affective disorder (SAD). Everything seems like such an enormous effort...one monolithic TRUDGE. My innards are cramped and crabby, my muscles feel twisted and sore and knotted and my head is stuffed with cotton and woolly bits and all i wanna do is gorge outrageously on chocolate, roll myself up in my bed and sleep until spring.

Somedays, like today, I walk around in a stupor, as if doped, with only fleeting moments of lucidity to break the monotony. But only during the winter months.

Maybe I need one of those visor things that shine faux sunlight into your eyes... like that old curmegeonly trapper guy... what was his name? Walt? Was it Walt? ... became addicted to in an episode of Northern Exposure.

I wonder if January and February would evoke the same horror if I lived in Hawaii or Barbados or Bali or somewhere sunkissed and sea swept.

Bah.


Click here to add your comment [ 4 comments so far ]


last | next