2004-01-26 � whipped and whorled

White Out Winter

The world around me today is a white one full of bluster and shifting, stinging swirls. Southern Ontario is deeply entrenched in the bowels of a storm emanating from Oklahoma of all places.

This doesn't seem possible. Shouldn't storms emanating from Oklahoma be full of minature cowboys dressed in fringed gear, polka-dotty chickens and haystacks and stuff?! I mean, I've never been to Oklahoma, so I don't know for sure...but I'm pretty certain the citizens of that state are rarely concerned about getting out of their driveways due to mountainous snowdrifts.


image stolen from my beautiful new appointment book,
of painting aptly titled Siberian Dogs in the Snow by Franz Marc

In actual fact, the storm has yet to arrive. Officially, it won't arrive until later this evening. But we've been guaranteed 25 cm or more of the white stuff before it even hits. That's a bit vexing.

For those of you, who like me are metrically challenged, that translates into 9.84252 inches of snow, or roughly the length of my leg from the sole of my wee foot to mid calf. The 35 centimeters we could get before it's all said and done, puts the grand total just under my kneecap. That's certainly vexing.

But in truth, I kind of enjoy the excitment of stormy days. Makes me feel a little imperiled and stuff, shakes me outta my mid-winter stupor. But lest you be concerned that I'm all down in the dumps and stuff, let me reassure you I'm not. I'm just in auto mode, plodding along through my days like I plodded along on the wolf walk this morning, head down against the wind, listening to the ghostly moaning and creaking of the trees, marvelling at how my footprints were immediately obliterated behind me, whisked white by the wind. I'm enjoying my work right now, for the most part, but I'm aching to work on some personal projects too. My head is teeming with images I can't really put into words, that I must get down in paint some how some way sometime soon before winter wipes them away.


Click here to add your comment [ 5 comments so far ]


last | next