2004-01-19 � Tiptoe through the Tulips


Here I am. Squat in the middle of the January Blahs. It's not that I'm depressed. No. Not really.It's more that my brain waves have flatlined as of late. My head is an exceedingly empty thing these days. I have, in the words of that incomparable philospher full of stuffing and hunny, Winnie-the-Pooh, become a bear of very little brain.

Need proof? I frostbit my toe the other day. Yup. Frostbite. I removed my sock Wednesday evening and there it was... my frostbitten toe...all waxy and deathly white and numb and deadlooking and sticking in the middle of my foot feeling more or less like a useless nub of eraser . I revived it with a long soak in warm (but not hot) water and it is more or less a normal rosy hue, so no permanent damage done... but really. How stupid am I? It's not like I'm new to this frosty winter thang... I have, in fact, lived in much frostier climes than this. I am Canadian, for pete's sake. I know about the perils of winter! But somehow I managed to get frostbite.

Sigh. Methinks this is not such a good thing...suddenly morphing into a Bear of Very Little Brain And Inadequately Insulated Feet. Nope. Not good at all.

But I suspect, as with all things, this too shall pass.

My survival these days has become dependant on proper outdoor clothing, fairchild tangerines, orange flavoured lite jello (which I have discovered I can eat as much as I want without endangering my blood sugar and such...great joy), doodling dinosaurs, fluffing my dog's fabulously furry ears, new episodes of Alias... and tulips. As in the picture above. Which I took, by the by, of my glorious $10 bouquet and doctored a wee bit in Photoshop for your enjoyment. I felt a bit guilty about purchasing the tulips, intially. I had just seen this episode of Oprah with this financial wizard going on and on about the "latte factor" and how it was preventing me from becoming the millionare I'm meant to be and had resolved inwardly to stop frivilously purchasing such things. I even called the husband at the office to tell him, that after ten years of ignorant self-enforced bliss vis-a-vie the wee finances, I wanted to be in on the loop. Yes... I was actually seized with the desire to know what we pay for our mortgage and utilities and such. Egad.

But it's JANUARY, people. I'll never survive it without tulips.


Click here to add your comment [ 7 comments so far ]


last | next