2003-12-15 � Hush


Spellbound

Mmm...today has been just lovely. A warm, quiet hush descended over the House of Wee today as snow blanketed us, wrapping the neighbourhood in winter wonder.

This morning's wolf walk was magical. Just the whisper of snow as it fell lushly about us, at times so thick we could barely make out the surrounding trees. The wolf was soon wearing a mask of snow which made her look rather more impish than usual as she bounded to and fro, snuffling and tunneling for scurrying mice and buried chomping sticks. We sat for a while deep in the winter-bleached, murmuring grass atop a hill, nestled snuggly together, lettting snow blanket us in awe. It's quiet moments like that, when I can feel her warm and breathing softly beside me, and the wonder of nature fills me, that I cherish most. Just the two of us, creatures in the forest and sometimes, it seems, the only beings on Earth, bound in deep, silent sympatico.

I have discovered Finn's inky black coat makes an excellent snowflake observatory if I can get her to stay still long enough, and though much of today's snow was just slivers of ice, I saw on the fine crest of her eyebrow the most exquiste ten branched snowflake I think I've ever seen.

We returned homeward with coffee and muffins for sharing and pressed our cold hands and noses all over Jack, still ensconced sleepily in bed. We all curled up together, the three of us, dozing lightly and watching the snow fall over the rooftops. Bliss.

When Jack left on his "ultra secret shopping expedition", I lit candles, sipped tea and played Christmas carols and sentimental favourites, savouring the snuggly winterness of it all.

Jack returned with a classical Christmas CD (and much mysterious rustling of shopping bags) that features a gorgeous performance of... be still my heart...the Carol of the Bells. You were right, people, that's what it's called and I'm so grateful to you for furnishing me with the title. It is, by far, my favourite Christmas song. I love the drama and the suspense of it. It gives me shivers. My only compliant is it's too short. We played it over three times as the light left the sky and the neighbourhood glowed with christmas lights and the house filled with the scent of cinnamon candles. Gorgeous.

All I want for Christmas is more sleepy, peacefull afternoons like this when my heart fills with gratitude and love and I feel that the world is, after all, a magical place.

Ah... and visions of sugar plums danced in their heads.


Come On to My House


Click here to add your comment [ 5 comments so far ]


last | next