2003-12-11 � round the twist

Entry in which I lament the apparent flaw in my girlie genes

Okay. I'm really just here because I'm procastinating heavily about going grocery shopping and not because I have exciting developments to share. sigh.

I really hate grocery shopping. The only way I can convince myself to do it is by promising myself a reward of fresh flowers at the end. Although, I'm not going to buy fresh flowers today. I'm going to buy a little rosemary tree instead to make up for the fact I won't have a real Christmas tree. See, we're going to be away for the holidays, visiting the parental units, and leaving a tree unattended and crispy is a real fire hazard.

I suppose we could avoid that problem if we got an artificial tree, but I really don't like artificial trees. Nope, I must have the real thing. With the fresh christmas scent and the tipsy trunk and the pine needles that drop and imbed (embed?) themselves in your carpet and tender tootsies. Yup.

But the profound lack o Christmas tree and snow is making the whole holiday thing seem less urgent than it in fact is. I'm cutting it awfully close this year and have so far only taken care of two people (my in-laws) on my extensive list.

I've sent myself on shopping expeditions four times since first of December, only to return empty-handed, hassled, and more confused than ever about what to get. sigh. I thought I was suppose to be good at this. Isn't it encoded in my girlie genes somewhere? Am I a mutant?

Jack and I are getting new living room furniture as our Christmas gift to each other... but that's turning out to be a bit disasterous too.We can't seem to find what we want... at least not at a price we can afford. We want a leather sofa, but not one of those puffy ones. Nice and sleek and tailored. But not too square. And Finny friendly. It must also be Finny friendly.

And a smaller coffee table, maybe oval or square. But again, sleek and contemporary. But not too contemporary. And not heavy looking. And priced less than $500.

Ahoy! I just realized I'm wearing two different coloured socks. And not in the fun and intentional Punky Brewester sense either. (The one and only Punky Brewster episode that's lodged in my big ol' cavernous brain is the one where she announces she always wears two different socks, naturally, because she's got two different feet.)

And also...and this is critical... does anyone know the name of that christmas song that goes "bum-bum-ba-bum-bum-bum ba-bum. merry merry merry merry merry Christmas..." and kind of slides up and down the vocal register like bells? Do you know which song I mean? I know you know it! What's it actually called? It's driving me absolutely round the twist not being able to come up with the title !!!

I suppose I'll have to inflict myslef on some hapless music store employee, forcibly subject them to my off-key and ear-splitting rendition and get them to figure it out.

sigh. well. hmmm. Guess that's it. Guess that's all. Guess I'll have to go change my socks and go mope the aisles of the grocery store now. bah.


Click here to add your comment [ 5 comments so far ]


last | next