2003-12-03 � Let it snow!

Flurries and Flakes

Woke up to find everything blanketed with snow this morning. Although it apparently played havoc with morning traffic, I can't tell you how happy I was to see the rooftops all delicately frosted with snow and a crisp white veil disguising the landscape and adding some legitimacy to the neighbourhood Christmas decor which went up immediately after Halloween (with varying degrees of enthusiasm and taste).

Perhaps its because I was born in December, or perhaps it's because I'm Canadian, but I love love love snow. Right up until January 1st, that is. And then I pray feverishly for it to vanish and let sunshine and balmy breezes prevail.

O, but it was frosty out walking the wolf this morning. The wind was unbelievably cold whistling between my ears. It actually gave me a headache, like when you eat ice cream too fast. The wolf appeared not to notice the frigid climes at all and cavorted with extra merriment, trying to steal my mittens and attempting to avoid any path which might lead back to the car.

I was a little disappoint that it didn't snow while we were out, though, and coat the car with little crystalline miracles. Yesterday, I read an article about snowflake watching in the National Post. It seems there's this physics professor in Pasadena, California who studies specially grown snowflakes in his lab. (I have to admit that given the incongruity of a professor in sunny Kalli-fornia becoming all flakey and snow-obsessed, I wonder if he might be growing other fun stuff in his lab too...you know, wacky stuff) He's written a book aptly titled "The Snowflake" all about the intricacies of snowflakes and the best conditions to view them. According to Ken Libbrecht (that's the name of the madcap snowflake professor), the hood of your car makes a fine snowflake observatory. And if you're lucky, and you remember to bring your magnifying glass, you might spot an elusive twelve sided snowflake, the holy grail of flakes.

But be warned...if someone tells you they've seen an eight-sided snowflake (or a four-,five-, or seven-branched snowflake) they're lying. 'Cuz there's no such thing as a four, five, seven or eight-sided snowflake in nature. Who knew?!

Also disappointing was the fact that last night's snow wasn't really in crystal form. It was more like little balls. This is apparently because it wasn't cold enough to form ice crystals. But, just so you know, they tasted like regular snowflakes. Both the wolf and I can attest to that.

Anyway, I think it's fascinating. I'm now on a mission to become a snowflake expert. Gotta get me a magnifying glass soonest.


Click here to add your comment [ 4 comments so far ]


last | next