2003-11-04 � Unravelled

Transition Time

I'm done. I mean I'm really, really done. The book, that is. Sent it off to be printed at exactly 1:23 today. Whoosh. It could be hovering in the air above you right now, all nestled snug and secure in its padded envelope.

Done. Wow. Can you believe it? I can't. I'm in this weird nether world right now. I imagine it's kinda like postpartum depression. I'm wandering around at loose ends trying to absorb the idea. I've been installed in this chair right here for what seems like months on end and in the past two weeks have been staring at this computer so intensely that every time I looked away, I'd see the image I was working on as if it were permanently scorched on my retinas. They need to make screen saver glasses for people like me. Cool, refreshing images that will wipe your tired orbs clean and refresh your vision. And maybe also spritz the air around you with a light minty scent. Or maybe something citrus. Yes! that's it. A light lemony whiff with tangerine undertones.

And now I feel very odd. I mean, the last thing I want to do is sit in front of this computer right now, and yet I'm almost irresistably drawn to it. So I cleaned my office. I stashed away the enormous pile of sketches that have been accumulating, strewn over every conceivable surface in this little room. I vacumned the floor (once I could find it). I ate soup and looked at junk mail. I signed the contract for my next project, a series of pen and ink cartoons for the Royal Tyrrell Museum of Paleontology's latest book venture, and sent it off. I read online interviews with Pixar staff members and revisited some fantasies about becoming an animator. I doodled on a flyer for chinese food and tried to participate in family nap time with Jack and Finn (too keyed up to succeed there, however.) I started dreaming about what I want for Christmas.

The list so far:

� Finding Nemo on DVD

� Olivia the Pig (kid's book)

� the little girl who thinks there are mermaids in the tap water on the current Brita water filter commercial

� new socks

Fisher-Price Peek-a-Blocks 'cuz I think they're the most adorable things ever! The Ocean Wonders series is pretty nifty too.

This odd feeling is only enhanced by the fact it's Tuesday (no good television), that it's been pouring for days and all the glorious yellow leaves have melted off the Maple tree in our front yard leaving it skeletal and bare and I have a stomach ache. I feel relieved, really. But a bit aimless.

But I so need a break. Jack has taken this week off...his first whole week off in nearly a year and we need to spend some quality time together. And to have a little fun. In fact, I'm going to sign off now and go find out what he wants to do with the rest of this week.

The October face of Wee World is going to stay up just a bit longer... I have great ideas for the November edition, just no energy to execute them. All in good time, all in good time!
10:33 .... Jack and I just finished watching the first episode of Jamie's Kitchen ( as in Jamie Oliver, Naked Chef), which he taped off the Food Network on Saturday night and oh my! it's so, so good. I'm having to restrain myself to prevent me from gorging on the website and spoiling next week's episode for myself! But that shouldn't stop you.... feast, my friends, feast !!!


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next