2003-10-17 � Mumbling about my Monitor

Really... it was so old than the manual was written in Sanskrit.

Okay. First things first. Rupert Rawks!

Oh man. I'm so exausted. My schedule has been completely turned on it's ear this week. Monday night, for some reason, i just couldn't sleep.

To begin with, I had the "jimmy legs". That's what Jack calls it when you get that weird achy/restless feeling in your pins. Then my brain would not stop spinning and grinding and then I just couldn't find the right temperature. Too hot under the blankets, too cold without. My usual trick of sleeping with one leg tucked under and one sticking out didn't work. And the more I flopped and rolled trying to find a comfortable spot, the more the wolf snuggled and pressed until I was forced into a teeny space parallel with the headboard, my nose pushed into Jack's not unpleasant armpit. I ended up on the couch, snacking on Bran Buds and blueberry yogurt and watching Antique Roadshow at 4:00 a.m. I was still awake when the National Post hit the doorstep.

And then my monitor died the big sputtery death on me at about 10:30 Tuesday morning, right after the wolf walk. I didn't even get to check my e-mail. So much for work on the book. I spent the afternoon swearing under my desk, trying to reconfigure my cables in a lame effort to get it working again. The wolf thinks it's great fun to snuffle wetly in my ear and chew on my sleeves whenever I'm on the floor. I should correct that. The wolf used to think it was great fun to snuffle wetly in my ear and chew on my sleeves whenever I'm on the floor. I think my shrieking and snarking may have just killed that puppy impulse.

I called the local Mac place to see if they had a replacement adaptor cable, figuring that might possibly be the problem (and the cheaper solution) and raced to the store to pick it up. Totally useless. So Wednesday morning, Jack had the brilliant Idea of hauling my old ancient hulk of a computer up from the electronic wasteland that is our basement and plugging the monitor in to that so we could determine once and for all if it was the monitor. Surprise, surprise... it's the monitor. The thing is like nine hundred years old, so this should shock no one. And last week, I could have sworn there was the acrid scent of smoke accompanying the intermintent but startling static snaps and pops that i began to think of as my old monitor's most endearing personality trait. Aside from the Powerpuff Girl stickers encircling it's face that is.

So off we trekked to Future Shop, palming the plastic. And now I have a bigger, snap-less, smokeless, stickerless new monitor which I painstakingly calibrated according to manufacturer's directions. Now all the illustrations I did before on the old monitor look strangely flat and washed out. Sigh.

But all well and good. Except that I'm totally behind schedule now and worked until 4:30 a.m. last night to try to make up for lost time and my eyes feel mushy and my skin feels all tight and bruised and I'm having troubles concentrating and need desperately to sleep... but I can't. I just can't. I lay there and twitch and blink and itch and my brain spins and grinds and ARGH! Something's gotta give here!

One shining spot: check out these glorious origami leaves I found thru kerismith.com courtesy of Claire of Loobylu fame.... aren't they stunning? I've never tried origami before, but you can bet you boots I'm going to get me some of that nifty folding paper at my earliest convienience and give it a shot.

Okay. More coffee. Must have.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next