2003-09-21 � Autumnal Angst

Falling for you

It is most autumnal outside today, the light, the sounds, the textures and smells. And my love for all things autumnal is bottomless. I mean, if I could unhinge my jaw and swallow it whole like some enormous jungle snake, I would.

recently, while standing in line waiting to pay for a bunch of blooms, I remarked to the florist that it felt like fall and how much I love fall. The woman waiting behind me said, almost snappishly, "Well, of course. Everyone loves fall."

And for a second I almost hated her, standing there with her garish carnations. Because somehow her comment seemed most dismissive and diminishing, implying that my love of fall was thoroughly commonplace and ordinary. Which, you must understand, it isn't at all. It's all consuming and shiny. It's huge. It's monumental. It's downright epic.

I wanted to turn on my heel and tell her so. But of course, that would be ridiculous. Of course, there are millions upon millions who adore Fall. There are only four seasons to choose from, and so naturally, at least a quarter of the population would choose Fall. And probably a lot more, given that Winter is not so very popular.

But I wanted to grab her carnations and stomp on them imprudently and shriek like a six-year-old demanding a box of Sugar Smacks.

But I didn't. I paid for my stems and left.

I am fairly busting with plans for fall. Glorious papier mache plans, plans involving much paint and pressing of leaves. Plans including heaps of apples and ornamental squash and pumpkin carving. And sweater wearing. And the constant usage of my camera. Er... Jack's camera. whatever.

And I'm trying to contain myself because O, I have so much work to do first! i cannot allow myself to become distracted by the wonders of the season. I must be disciplined, buckle down. I will have plenty of time for fall frolicking when all the work is done!

And really, let's be honest here... I spend my days drawing giraffes and colouring munkies... it's not exactly drudgery, folks. Not by a long shot.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next