2003-09-04 � a real rambler

Azure and Aiken and My Major League Slacker Tendancies

O Bats! the new Martha Stewart Kids' magazine is chock a block with 'em.... I think the egyptian fruit bats are the cutest, but I'm also partial to the more winsome and wrinkly ones... like the vampire bat. And the desert pallid bat has real cool ears...

sigh. I'm having a devil of a time settling into work mode this morning. It is an absolutely gorgeous day... cool, breezy, giant fluffy clouds in an azure sky, the sun warm on your neck. The wolf is also unwilling to settle down. Though we were out walking almost twice as long as usual today, she keeps wandering in here to whine and bump at my leg and then behaving as if she needs to pee badly. As soon as I near the back door to let her out, she grabs a shoe, her blanket, a ball, whatever item is most available and portable, and goes hurtling outside to stand in the middle of the yard wagging her tail emphatically and trying to entice me out for a game of backyard stick. And it truly is tempting.... ahh, but there is work to be done.

Getting out for our morning walks on time has become trickier this week. The elementary school they've been building at the end of our street finally opened on Tuesday, attracting shiny faced school children in bright white knee socks and new shoes from far and wide along with their attendant moms and dads and golden retrievers and stroller bound siblings. The main road leading out of the subdivision is near impossible to negotiate between 9:00 and 9:30... there is a Catholic Elementary School just a few blocks down from the new one and it's wall to wall kiddies and crabby crossing guards.

As I was loading the wolf into the car for the trek to the park this morning, our old newspaper girl, ambling off to seventh grade, waved at me from across the street. I almost fell over. In the four months since we cancelled the local newspaper, she has grown breasts and two feet of additional height. She looks about eighteen now. Egad! Seeing her made me feel bad about cancelling the paper all over again... I sort of feel like it's our civic duty to subscribe even though The Post essentially went from our front porch directly into the recycling bin, unread. The kicker is that although the paper is "Free", every two weeks, a newspaper carrier showed up on your doorstep, all wide-eyed and winsome, waiting for you to pay them their six dollar "tip".

Jack thought this was highway robbery and gave me the choice... either we cancel The Post or our Entertainment Weekly subscription. Well, that was pretty much a no-brainer. Although, with Clay Aiken's face larger than life and screaming at me from this week's cover, I'm now second-guessing myself.

sigh. My stars, this is boring! Well, I'll spare you further yawning and sign off. I really should get back at it, anyway. If you're truly bored, have an amble through my fotolog. I've been updating it again. And have a glorious azure-skied weekend.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next