2003-07-28 � Time travelling

Panting, Pollywogs and Pretty Pirates

Hello lovelies. Sitting here listening to the wolf imitate a steam engine on high speed. She's trying valiantly to interest me in the soggy tennis ball she's rolled under my desk and I'm trying valiantly to ignore it. We have just returned from the park where she spent the last half an hour engaged in a very rowdy game of fetch with four eight-year-old boys she happened upon on the way back from our hour long stick chasing session. She's huffed. She needs to catch her breath. But somehow she doesn't understand that. Dogs...go figure.

I have nothing in particular to write about at the moment. Updating just seemed like the thing to do. Making and eating lunch would be another thing to do, and I will be signing off shortly to do just that, but first I have to say this: Pollywog.

That's not a word you hear frequently any more, but my One and Only used it on Saturday, and I'm all for reinstating it. It's a fantastic wriggly word, don'tcha think?

Also, I have recently become besotted with pirates, which may or may not have something to do with how knee-knockingly gorgeous Johnny Depp looks all dressed up as swaggering skallywag Captain Jack Sparrow, and am using any given opportunity to use the following terms: Avaste! Argh! Davy Jones's Locker! Jolly Roger! and Pieces of Eight.

Unfortunately, it seems there are not many opportunities to use pirate lingo in modern life, not even when you are actively seeking them. Not much call for talk of Polywogs either. damn!

and finally: I have to tell you about a rare celebrity stacked dream I had. A couple of nights ago, I dreamed I was taking a magic carpet ride with Sting and we were swooping here there and everywhere and at some point we docked at the Taj Mahal and had a picnic with Michael Stipe and Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Honest to boots! Me, Spike, Stipe and Sting... hanging and munching crustless sandwiches and grapes. Any and all dream analysis welcome and eagerly anticipated.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next