2003-01-29 � emerging

facing forward and february

There are, it would seem, only two more days of January left and i'm ever so pleased about that. I imagine that there are places in the world � tropical places, places in Austrailia, Morrocan places � where January is beloved and enjoyable.

But in Canada, I'm afraid, or at least in the little patch of Canada that serves as my home, January is endless and awful, a month to avoid when you can and endure patiently, stoically when you can't.

I have been stoic. I have endured. And now I am looking forward to embracing February and am hoping it will be one sweetheart of a month.

I will seek out the hottest cinnamon hearts and indulge by the handful.

I will start a new sketchbook and boldly experiment.

I will buy bright bouquets of tulips and distribute them about the house of wee.

I will allow myself to think of spring, of daffodils and budding leaves and I will start to awaken. A bit at a time, tentatively testing the temperature outside my hibernation with a toe, then a foot, then the whole of me. I will slough off my old skin and pull on a new one, bright and shiny and pink and i will begin again, begin anew. By mid-March, should all go well, I shall be as green and spritely as a new shoot.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next