2003-01-17 � whine and roses

wishing and hoping and dreaming

o people. It is tremendously frosty outside, but the wolf still wants to go for a trudge 'round the park. Fine for her, she's got a posh full-body fur coat, and while it's a little smelly these days and could use a shampooing, i'm sure it's warm and cozy and fits just right.

Big long drawn out blue and defeated sigh. It is so january. And i've got the blahs in a big way. I'm fantasizing pretty much non-stop these days about more temperate climes, about living an altogether completely different life, of wanting to inhabit an altogether different body. Not so much because there's anything wrong with my life or body or stuff, just 'cuz i'm aching for an adventure and you've got to admit that waking up in someone else's body � anyone else's body � would be an adventure.

Here's a list of things I would love to do today, but for many reasons won't be doing today:

� I would love to be snorkling in the tropics and examining real live starfish and urchins in their little sparkling aqua habitats.

� I would like to discover a new species of orchid, something exotic and wonderfully spiked and deliciously fragrant and name it after my mom.

� I would like to be seated on a sailboat, sea winds rippling my hair, listening to the snap of sails and sipping creme soda from a frosty glass bottle, scanning the horizon of the blue blue ocean for dolphins.

� I would like to be swaying on a porch swing, dusk falling, somewhere Southern and balmy, listening to crickets and watching fireflies twinkle and dart.

� I would like to know immediately and now all the things i do not know, like how to properly install fonts on my computer and how to stretch watercolour paper so that it is nice and taut and doesn't ripple and how to speak Spanish and Russian and Korean.

� I would like to be seated on a scooter looking all crisp and elegant, my arm casually looped around the waist of dashing Gregory Peck, racing down the narrow streets of Rome.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next