2003-01-14 � jello

watch it wiggle, see it jiggle...cool and fruity

Once upon a very very long time ago when I was but a wee thing with pigtails pulled too tight and bandaids on both knees, my mom had these swell little cookbooks featuring the most wonderful and exotic jello desserts, all fancy like. Whipped, frothy, layered in sparkling champagne glasses, blended with fruit and booze and just plain fabulous.


I spent ages flipping through those things, fantasizing about the fancy dinner parties I would throw someday featuring silver trays arrayed with glistening jello delights, towering moulds on clouds of whipped cream frothiness. I always looked like Samantha Stevens from Bewitched in these fanatsies and wore darling sheer aprons tied behind my teensy waist in a perfect butt-grazing bow.

For some reason, I was just thinking about this, getting all misty about those colourful shimmering cubes of gelatinous fun and wishing feverishly that I had those little Jello cookbooks now. 'Cuz they were, I assure you, things to behold. I surfed around looking for something similar, some retro showcase, but to no avail. I couldn't find any jello pictures to rival anything close to those little books, not even in the jello museum. Now I am all sad and pouty. Please, if you're out there, sitting on piles of shimmering retro jello fun, pop a pic into my guestbook. Life was just so much more glamourous then.

In the meantime, visit here. The rainbow ring mould in the classic recipe section sort of approximates the gelatinous delights I remember from my youth. sorta.

Special thanks to Poppy [silver23] who found a cookbook called "the joy of Jell-o" that is very near to what i remember and linked me to it in my guestbook. I discovered a whack of other retro exciment through your link, Poppy, so extra props! And to Andrea [adumbration] who put some sparkling stuff in my gbook too. You are jiggly stars, my dears!


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next