2003-01-05 � bunny bleatings

Blame it on the Bunny

Lately, I have been heeding the advice of Thumper's mother*, which was this, of course: "If you can't say something nice, shhhh-h! say nothing." But I've been misinterpreting her.

What Thumper's wise and fluffy mom was talking about was being careful not to slander other bunnies, bambis and folk. Good advice, that. But I've been labouring under the notion lately that if i can't produce a bit o' Diaryland gold here, that I should just shhh-h! say nothing.

Silly Rabbit. I hereby dispense with any high falutin' pretense toward literature and vow instead to update whenever the energy's right, just 'cuz and just for fun.

But I am going to make one marked departure from my usually nutty rambles to say this:

Whilst I'm not about to get into any discussions about who did what to whom and how America should respond to this or that, please people, we must be clear here:

Saddam Hussein was not involved in the whole September 11th tragedy.

I'm not saying I am in any way supportive of that beastly man. I am not. I am not saying that there aren't other reasons to attack Iraq. I'm sure there's plenty.

All I'm saying is that there is some need for clarity out there folks! Watching the CBC this morning, I became ever more painfully aware that there is a virulent misconception out there (that the media is readily encouraging) that Saddam Hussein bombed the World Trade Centre. And attacking Iraq is simple pay back.

Well, that's not true, people. That was Osama Bin Laden (remember him?) and they are two different people.

And why the hell all the big snorting heads at the CBC with their holier-than-thou-small "L" liberalism aren't pointing this out in their various broadcasts is beyond me. If you're going to wage a war, please be sure you know and understand what it is you're fighting about.

that's all.

* from Walt Disney's "Bambi"


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next