2002-12-01 � Twelfth month

Deck the Halls

It is suddenly and insanely and impossibly December. Again. How can this be? I was just getting used to November.

December was ushered in by a determined little flurry this morning. I love that word, "Flurry". It's basically fury, but with the whimisical addition of another R and a drunken L piled on for extra fun. Blurry, furry, flurry fury. Whee.

And you've probably noticed the new topper up there. Well, hmm... what to say about it. I'm not entirely sure that I like it. It's a bit chilly. Which is fitting of course, it being all December and such, but I don't know. Somehow it's not quite right. So I'm sure it will be changed again. And again. Because December just isn't packed enough with stuff to do, things to decorate, packages to wrap and present, things to cook, birthdays to mark.

Eeek. Birthdays. I'll be having one of those this month. I'm not sure that it's a good thing. I'm rapidly approaching the age when you start to fib about which one you're marking this time round. O, shut up. I hear you rabbiting on about how age is only a number. But mark my words, you'll do it too when you get here.

And so the twelfth month begins, ticking down the last of 2002. Let it be everything they promise in the movies. Let it be all that it is in song. Let it be merry and bright. Let it be packed with wassailing and fa-la-la-la-la. And oh please, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next