2002-11-13 � cowards and cavities

cowards and cavities and the Thirteenth Child

o hello. Whatcha doing? Me? Well, sittin here thinking that perhaps i should have updated yesterday when I felt all sassy and chatty and stuff. This despite the fact I had to go to the dentist.

Ick. Dentists.

I cracked a filling the other day and so needed to have it replaced. It was unavoidable. Believe me, If I could have avoided it, I would have. I've been avoiding the dentist for more than seven years now. Isn't that horrible? I mean, it's not like I haven't been completely covered by dental insurance during that time and couldn't afford to go or anything. It's not like I had a piano tied to my ass and was afraid i wouldn't be able to wedge it into the dentist chair or something.

Nope. i just didn't wanna go. And I'm not very good about doing things I don't wanna do.

I know, I KNOW! I'm so very juvenile. If I'm into something, I'm really really into it !!! Rabid. Fanatical. Obsessed, in fact! and if I'm not... well, trying to get me to do it voluntarily is like trying to sew a fart to a moonbeam. Near impossible.

Now, don't look so shocked and aghast. I never EVER said I was perfect. In fact, just for the record: Perfection is BORING. And I am oh so very flawed and fabulous.

But I've got to say, my new dentist was very nice and very gentle. Even if he does have a picture of a raccoon posted opposite his dentist chair. Even if he did have this mammoth, magenta-shaded, man-eating zit I was dying to pop nestled in the crevice of his right nostril.

Then again, I did choose him because his ad in the phonebook said he "caters to cowards." And no bones about it, when it comes to dentistry, I land squarely in the coward column.

Of course, my visit yesterday won't be the last. I have another appointment next week for a cleaning and to have three other cracked fillings replaced. And then I'll have to have a third appointment to take care of two more NEW cavities. Whee. I can't wait. But what do you expect after seven years of no check ups, no nothing?

But actually, they were enormously impressed with me and my brushing skills. I have VERY minimal plaque. They (the dentist and the hygenist) just could not get over the fact that i had not been to a dentist in more than seven years, just could not believe it. I am a spectacular tooth brusher. Major League, even. The only problem is that I'm brushing my eye teeth too hard. I'm essentially wearing the enamel thin. Who knew?

But, as I remarked to Sooner the other day, how else do you get the blood stains out?!!

And speaking of sooner, if you have an opinion to express vis-a-vis his journal, go visit him. He's in the process of developing the "Essential Sooner" and needs your input!

Also swing by and say hi to peth who wrote the most incredibly frightening story featuring words like "birthing bed" ,"foul stenching", and "Devil's Tot" just 'cuz I asked her to. How wicked is that?!


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next