2002-10-17 � attack of the green grannies

spinning in her grave


ooo. Are you frightened? Alarmed? Vaguely spooked? Halloween is just around the corner, so I thought I'd best launch an appropriate template.

The scariest thing about it? See that ghoulish granny up there? I'm distantly related to her. She's my grandmother's great great grandmother or something. I come from a long line of green people, don't cha know. We're all horrific in our own fashion. That's what makes us so memorable.

My parents brought the old family archives with them and I spent a couple hours scanning ancient photos on Tuesday afternoon. Don't know exactly what I'm going to do with them all, but I'm thrilled to have them. There were some fantastically old ones in the pile and I find it all absolutely fascinating. As you sift through the ages, various traits appear, then fade and vanish down the line.

I know now where my grandmother got her determined little chin and her round shiny dark eyes. Where my fair hair and green eyes, so much like my dad's, originated. There are some photos of my father as a toddler that look astoundingly like my childhood pictures, others that look so much like my brother.

It seems to me that my grandmother (on my father's side) came from a line of determinedly humourless people. Dozens of them, all carefully coiffed, thin-lipped, ramrod-straight and primly posed. Quite the polar opposite of my grandfather's ancestors, all stout and jolly, with broad grins and soft features.

The ghoulish granny up there is obviously from the otherside, the no nonsense, fanatically religious side. She is no doubt seething over my shoulder at this, completely unamused by my online antics, fingers crossed that someday I'll do the John Edwards thing and she can really give me what for. So if I should suddenly vanish without a trace, I think you can safely assume that it was the dastardly doings of my great great great great Granny Butler, exacting revenge from beyond the grave.

On that happy note, I'll close this. I've a couple minutes free before I have to go to the grocery store and I want to spend that time haunting YOUR diary pages. It's good to be back!


Okay, Jack is giving me the willies. He says it's bad mojo to poke fun at dead ancestors. So darling Granny Butler, if you're out there and receiving this, please understand that it's all in good fun and don't do any evil spirit things to me and my family. I'm truly indebted to you and your offspring. After all, if it weren't for you, I wouldn't be here. Thank you for being so understanding and benevolent.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next