2002-10-01 � departures

O Darling Diaryland Denizens!

Hello. I'm back and I've missed you so! I know some of you were getting a little worried there, wondering where Wee went! I've been here, all along, and things have been fine, really. It's just that up until 30 minutes ago, I was up to my ass in in-laws and all that that entails.


Derek and Dorothy (mother and father-in-law) departed at last in one final flurry of misplaced car keys, missing vitamins, and airline tickets. A couple of quick, awkward embraces at the door, a perfunctory pat of the pet, and off they went in their rented PT Cruiser leaving me alone at last.

Alone with that odd heavy deflated feeling I always get when being left behind. It's a unique mixture of blue-tinged sadness and warm sweet relief that bubbles up like butterflies in my gut and makes my eyelids feel hot and leaden. I really hate the feeling of being left behind, even when I have been longing for days to have the house to myself again. It's kinda like postpartum depression. Post part 'em depression. Worry not. I'll recover swiftly.

So... I know you're all agog, wondering how it went. I know you're hungry... nay, starving for the pantaloon-pissing details I promised you a week ago. And I will deliver on that promise, I will indeed.

But first, let me catch my breath and collect my thoughts. So much to do, so many diaries to read, so many templates to change! So I'm going to leave you for the moment with the promise to return before the sun sets on this fine October afternoon! Hang in there!


Trucking with the Turkeys

Yessireee, 'em are turkeys way up there. Fine people pullin' 'uns too. Raised 'em from eggs, I did. Yep.

You may be wondering why I'm posting turkeys in October. Well, we celebrate Thanksgiving in the middle of October in Canada. I'm not sure why. Maybe it has to do with our weather. Many parts of the country are blanketed in snow by the time American Thanksgiving rolls around. So I thought I'd stick up my Thanksgiving themed template now and change to the Halloween themed one afterwards. Whee!

I know I promised to make you pee your pantaloons, but I'm afraid you'll have to wait until tomorrow. It took forever to get this template up and frankly, i'm exhausted and brain-dead at the moment. I'm off now to pick up the hubby. Until the 'morrow then, I bid you adieu.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next