2002-09-23 � ominous warnings

looming disaster

My ever increasing anxiety over the impending arrival of my in-laws was not....repeat, NOT ....decreased by the electronic delivery of the following horoscopes for the week:

My Horoscope Sept.22nd thru 28th:

Sagittarius (Nov. 22 - Dec. 21) Serious power struggles with parents, VIPs, bosses, the police and any authority figure in your life could make you lose sleep now. Pluto is in your sign, and fiery Mars is at high noon. Justice and truth are important to you. But even the good can suffer defeat. Do not be ruthless or underhanded. (Not your style, anyway.) Nevertheless, this particular planetary clash does not bode well for standing up to authority. The odds are against you. (And you know that you like to play the odds.) Far better that you consider this an opportunity to practice patience. (Now and Zen this is good.)

Jack's Horoscope Sept.22nd thru 28th:

Virgo (Aug. 23 - Sept. 22) Yikes. This Mars /Pluto thang really hits you where you live.Domestic quarrels are almost unavoidable. Anger serves no purpose other than to make people miserable. Criticism is flying back and forth because each party wants to change the other. ("You'd be perfect, if only you'd --.") You can't change people. You have to accept the way they are, and be glad they're not worse. Nobody's perfect -- certainly not your family, especially your parents. So what to do? In my opinion, this "turn the other cheek" thing has something going for it. If your feelings are too intense -- avoid the object of your anger. Go out for a drive or a walk or see a movie. Cool down. (Or do a lot of cleaning.)

Eeek. What the hell am I suppose to do with this information now? I know, ultimately, it's in my best interest to ignore it. Self-fulfilling prophesy and all that, but HOW?!!! It's not easy to be all Zen and Mary Poppins when you know the stars are lined up against you and your in-laws' visit is cursed from above. sigh.

Was a dull but productive weekend. We painted the guest room, Jack doing all the high bits, me doing all the low bits. Lots of crawling around on my knees taping and painting baseboards. The Wolf would occasionally saunter in to dip her whiskers in the paint and snuffle wetly in my ear.

I fear my journal entries in the next week will be scant . I have completed 476 of the 633 afore-mentioned tasks, but there's still 157 things I have to do before Friday morning. So you'll just have to bear with me being all boring and distracted until the in-laws wing homeward next Tuesday morning.

Then I will regal you with hugely entertaining stories of how I survived the siege. You'll laugh until you pee your pantaloons.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next