2002-09-18 � owls and odors

September 18th

I was thinking that what I have to say this day does not warrant it's own entry so I'd just tack it on to Orchard entry (yesterday's entry). And it was, in fact, tacked on to the Orchard entry for a day. But then I changed my mind and decided my Orchard entry was so lovely, I didn't want to defile it with this tale.

Confused? Don't be. Just understand sometimes I make unwise decisions. It happens.

Returned to the Orchard today, after walking the ring around the wooded area of the park twice and marvelling at how adorable my dog is. She has this new game where she runs ahead, wheels around quickly, cocks her head and stares at you for a full minute with the rapt puppy expression on her face, then charges at you, taking huge bounding leaps, skittering to a stop at your feet. It's adorable. It makes me want to swoon.

Anyway, we get to the orchard and as I'm inspecting the pears, I detect this odor. The heinous odor that smells like owl barf or something. It so bad, my eyes start tearing. Obviously, the magic of the orchard evaporated over night.

So I start walking quickly back to the car, this stench searing my nostrils. I have to wait for the wolf to try and drag several enormous oak trees home with us, but finally we get back to the car. Get in the car. Stench is absolutely overwhelming. Sudden realization: It's not the orchard that reeks of owl barf. It's my dog.

Drive home with windows cranked. Forego usual drive thru coffee stop in effort to get home soonest. Bath dog.

Now I'm off to rent a steam-cleaner to shampoo my carpets. what joy. what a difference a day makes.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next