2002-09-19 � man boobs, krispy kremes, and pigs

for starters: a long overdue count

It's time now for one of my infamous random counts. They have been few and far between these days, I know. Perhaps you've been missing them. Most likely not .

random wee thoughts

3 � Number of months from this day till my birthday.

1 � Number of pocket-sized etch-a-sketches currently on my desk

1 � Number of empty apple green mugs adorning my desktop

5 � Number of hours I spent steam-cleaning living room carpets yesterday

3 � Number of hours I've procastinated about steam-cleaning upstairs rooms so far this morning

2 � Number of garter snakes I saw this morning on walk with wolf

1 � Number of garter snakes I almost stepped on this morning whilst walking Wolf

633 � Number of things I should be doing RIGHT NOW instead of writing another flakey journal entry

633 � Number of things I really don't feel like doing but will have to do eventually anyway

26 � Number of enteries I've made since last random count

0.5 � Number of hours I spent deadheading fall mums this morning

0 � Number of e-mails I've received today

2 � Number of teeny wee braids I made in my hair this morning whilst talking to my Mom about dental surgery (hers) on the phone this morning


Sigh. I think I've procastinated long enough. time to make the donuts. Oh wait...speaking of donuts: Krispy Kremes. They're all the rage in Canada these days. There's only one Krispy Kreme outlet that I know of right now. It's in Missasauga. Apparently, people line up for hours to experience the joy that is Krispy Kreme. There is rumours that Krispy Kreme will soon sweep the nation though, spreading donuty goodness far and wide.

I have yet to experience the joy that is Krispy Kreme. I came close during Rib Fest over the Labour Day long weekend when the Boy Scouts were selling boxes of Krispy Kremes out of a Krispy Kreme logo festooned tent as a fundraiser. But it was hot and sticky and I went for a cup of frozen yogurt instead although, indeed, I was v.curious to taste what all the fuss was about.

Rib Fest is a local tradition. All the communities along the lakeshore seem to have them. As you might have guessed, it's like a big country fair featuring pork ribs and a beer garden and not much else. We missed it last year, so stopped by this year. I don't think we'll bother next year.

First of all, a lot of very unattractive people attend these things. Possibly for the sole purpose of displaying as much of their unattractive selves as possible. It was a veritable sea of mammoth man boobs. Some hairy, some not. Some sporting pierced nipples, some not. All unattractive.

But the other thing is I've been having much difficulty surrounding the whole pork issue since we've moved here. We pass a Maple Leaf plant ("Pork for the World" is their catchy motto) every day on the way to take Jack to the train station. And almost inevitably we end up stationed at a stoplight right next to an enormous multi-decked truckload of poor wiggly pigglies being transported to their ugly deaths . They all stick out their pink piggy snouts and stare at me balefully, pleading with me to free them. It's awful. I have to stare very intently in the opposite direction and try to think happy un-pork-related thoughts. Which is really hard, because there's row upon row of pink piggy snouts and little piggy eyes staring right at me. Pleading.

Babe. Wilbur. Porky.

To make matters worse, i saw a documentary on animal intelligence a couple weeks ago and pigs are really quite bright. There was this one piggy who spells better than i do. The piggy's human would say to the little porker, "spell pig," and the pig would shuffle over to a pile of wooden letters and pull out the P, the I, and the G. "Spell Ham," said the trainer and sure enough, the good natured pig pulled out the H, the A and the M. In order.

Needless to say, pork consumption has seriously dwindled in the House of Wee. Jack and I have been discussing becoming veggies. We've seriously cut back on red meat. Chicken and seafood are very difficult to give up, though. And really, if i really, REALLY had to, I could probably kill a chicken. That's pretty much the criteria these days "Could you kill it if you had to?"

So obviously, lamb is out. Cows are out. Calves are out. Actually, baby anythings are out. Piggies are out. Turkeys and chickens are still in, but just barely. Lobster and shrimp are definetly in.

Okay, now I really do have to go do the 633 things I don't want to do. Have a good one all. And free the pigs.


lydibug just sent me my first e-mail of the day, bless her. She's the sweetest thing ever and I think she may have driven a car thru a redwood tree just recently.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next