2002-08-31 � falling again

an autumn occasion

Fall is in the air. Can you feel it? The leaves haven't started to change just yet, but the quality of the light is different. Tinged about the edges with red and gold, slanting lower on the horizon.

I love Autumn. It's my absolute favourite time of year. The palette of rich golds, burgundys, deep earthy greens and chocolatey browns � the earth letting go of its bounty in one ripe, riotous blast of color before succumbing to the cool tones, the icy blues and grays, of winter. Even the word "autumn" has a special romance.

This autumn I will bake a fresh apple crumble with cinnamon and orchard fresh apples. The wolf and I will take long meandering walks through the woods, wading through crisp drifts of fallen leaves. I will carve a family of pumpkins with gap toothed grins straight out of a Tim Burton movie. I will buy a red tartan throw to replace the old fleece one the Wolf has chewed the fringes off of in a frenzy of puppy love and mischief. I will make hot chocolate and wait patiently for first frost and the first puddle I find with that paper thin crust of ice glazing the top. I will paint and draw and dig out my camera again. It will be magical.

And it starts with this new template.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next