2002-08-13 � Tall Dark secrets revealed

tall, dark secrets revealed

There is another occupant of the House of Wee, another devotee of the Wolf. I hinted at him in my first Random Count but today I've decided to reveal all. Are you ready?

I have a husband. [pause for dramatic effect.]

Had him for eleven years, in fact. [Great gasps from the audience. Then murmurs about how very old I must be then. I am old, but not THAT old. I'm in my early thirties. Verging on mid thirties. It's scary.]

And I'm quite fond of him. Which is good, I should think, 'cuz when you commit to sharing your life with one person forever and ever, you should be fond of him.

He is the lovliest man I've ever met . He is my twin soul, my best friend, my partner in wolf-worship, bill paying and lawn maintenance.

He is the sugar in my cube, the dot over my 'i', the sun in my shine.

He is Jack. Well, actually, he isn't. That's just what I've decided to call him here because I secretly suspect he always want to be a Jack.

And as lists seem to be all the rage in d-land these days, here are the top ten best things about Jack:

1] He has the most gorgeous eyelashes ever, loooong,lush and black.

2] He is a foot and two inches taller than I am which is handy when I need to get something off the top shelf of the closet and elsewhere.

3] He has a wicked sense of humor, dark and thick and edgy with a bit of a goofy aftertaste. Like Jon Stewart funny. In fact, (brag brag) he has won awards for his humour...most recently a red gumball machine at his company picnic.

4] He adores me, but adores the Wolf more.

5] He does unexpected things like bring me tall cold glasses of lemonade unbidden on hellishly hot hazy afternoons.

6] He is in charge of icky thing removal and does this spectacularly well. (icky things being garbage, spider wrangling, ant killing, and the like. Plus anything involving mold.)

7] He is a fount of arcane t.v. and movie knowledge.

8] He's good at math.

9] He is good and kind and decent and does not have any back hair.

10] He is tall, dark and handsome.

Of course, he's not entirely perfect. He has his flaws. But I'll leave those for another day and close this entry here while you're all dizzy with envy and breathless for more.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next