2002-07-31 � Welcome to Wee World

welcome to wee world

Here it is. My first real diary entry. (Because the other was a test, and only a test, remember?) And now I'm at kind of a loss as to what to write, and indeed, whether to write.

My first big mistake: filling out the whole music/movies/authors thang, because then I started clicking into diaries with the same faves. And then I kinda panicked 'cuz i started thinking good gawd! What is every single one of these people like bloody twelve?! Because I am so NOT twelve. At least not technically.

True, I watch the Powerpuff Girls and dig Tootsie Pops and long to attach the same kind of pink plastic streamers to my car that I had on the handles of my bike. Which, by the by, was pink and had a pink and orange flowered banana seat and a bitchin' flower bedecked basket too. But I prefer to think of that as merely being all down with my inner child and such like. But I'm soooo not twelve.

So then I happened upon Ann-Frank, although I'm not sure how I landed there as we don't share any of the same favorites or anything. And her whole Ass Bruise swatch matching story made me feel better. Because even if she is twelve...and how the hell would I know how old she really is 'cuz at this point i'm not even certain any of you diaryland people are REAL let alone perishable*... she's bitter and twisted enough to be thirty. So that made me feel better.

Wee pause now to explain the asterisk. Perishable is not the word I was after, but I am at a complete loss as to whatever the right word to insert there actually is. Carbon datable was the next best option and that just seemed somehow slanderous. OK, wee may resume.

The other thing that made me feel better was realizing that I'm the only person in Diaryland that listed "All the President's Men" as one of my fave movies. It made me feel oh-so-unique. Old, but unique.

See, thing is, I'm all conflicted about this whole on-line journal keeping thang. I keep wondering what my motivation is? Am I simply seeking an audience, hoping you'll all stampede to my site and fall down in worship and fill my mailbox with breathless affirmations that I'm wicked cool ? A horrific speller, yes, but wicked cool, nonetheless. Or is there more to it? Maybe I've been working on my own for too long?

Maybe, as more than one friend has suggested in recent weeks, I really need to find a new hobby.

Needlepoint was suggested but trust me, the last thing you want to put in my hands is a sharp eye-stabbing instrument like a needle. One of us is bound to be blinded. Not 'cuz I'm violent or anything. Just because I'm extremely fluent with my hand gestures. Everything could be all cool and we'd be chatting about what the hell Ben Affleck is doing with that skanky J-Lo and how throughly addictive the orange Coffee Crisps are, and I'd gesture too emphatically and the next thing you know one of us is trying to convince the world that eye patches are the latest fashion craze.

Well, for whatever reason, I'm here. And it's here. Welcome to Wee World. Enjoy your visit.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next