2005-05-31 � Interview with a vampire

Let's get quizzical...quizzical... I wanna get quizzical...

Courtesy of the incomparable, achingly lovely and most miraculous Bluepoppy, I give you this little interview game...

1. If you opened your front door one morning and found three darling
puppies on your doorstep in a wee wicker basket looking for a good
home would you keep them? And, if you kept them, what would you name
them?

O, O, O... would that I could keep the three wrigglers! You know I would if I could! But I'm afraid the wolf might eat them. You see, the wolf, while perfect in all other respects, does not like other doggities. Not. At. All. She use to... until she injured her back on the flight over when we moved from Calgary. Then she became extremely protective of her personal space. We're reasonably sure that this is because the morning after we arrived, we scouted out the first dog park we could find (actuallly the dog park scouting had been done long before we moved) and practically threw her into a pack of strange dogs, not realizing at the time that she was injured (although she was acting most un-Finn like)... and kept throwing her to the dogs (so to speak) at every given opportunity because we figured that her strange behaviour was trauma over the move. Dumb, dumb thing to do we realized later. The other dogs would start jumping on her and trying to entice her to play and her back was very, very sore... and now she equates other dogs with pain. Her back is better now, thanks to monthly visits to an animal chiropractor / vet who has been a total God send... but the behaviour is still there. She does not want other dogs near her. At. All. She's fine unless they come right up too her. Then.... well, let's just say we do our damnedest to stay away from other doggies.

So... in answer to the question, I would love them and care for them and keep them away from my wolf until I could find them really good homes with people I have throughly grilled and then I would let them go, feeling as if I had just had my heart ripped out by the roots. Because the only thing worse than parting with those puppies would be parting with Finny J. (which I could never, ever willingly do. EVER. That would kill me DEAD.) or if Finny hurt one of them.

They're temporary names would be: Fang, Glory, and Lemming. O, or Smuckers.

2. If you could spend a day with any artist of your choice in their
studio where the two of you could make art all day long, who would it
be and why?

One artist?! Only one?! Must they be living?! o... lawd. Owwww. This is like choosing between children. Hmmmm... Well, if they didn't have to be alive, I'd say N.C. Wyeth because I have seen pictures of his studio and it is amazing and I pretty much worship him. I think he may be the greatest illustrator who ever lived. Such depth and expression and oh so painterly. And I would force him to teach me everything he could in the space of 24 hours. Alive? There are so many, many.... Lane Smith, Peter McCarty, Carson Ellis, Peter de Seve, Natalie Ascencious, Lizabeth Zwerger ... I could go on and on and on and on. And that's just the Illustrators I admire... don't even get me start on the list of artist "artists"!

3. Best song to play on a rainy Saturday morning while painting your toenails?

Hmmm... well, if I were actually singing to my toenails (which I've been known to do... badly) I'd sing "My, How You've Grown" by 10, 000 Maniacs. Hee. If I were feeling gloomy, like Eyeore, I'd say "Dark Angel" by Blue Rodeo. But most of all, and on any and all other occasions too, I'd say "Lack of Color" By Death Cab for Cutie which is a song that I can play endlessly, over and over and never get tired of.

4. What's your idea of a perfect date?

Gah... Date? Date?!! Like if I was single?! O woe. Having been married for almost 14 years (it's our anniversary next week!), I can't even imagine that... so I'm going to answer with the Handsome Guy in mind, 'cuz let's face it, the perfect date would HAVE to include him and it would be kinda awkward explaining to my "date" what the spousal unit was doing there. I'd say a picnic beside a lake consisting of lobster and prawns as big as my head and strawberries and mangos and chocolate layer cake and lots of wine, with the wolf in tow but of course, sun dappled light and lapping waves and a crisp lilac scented breeze and a nap in a hammock... maybe be a lazy canoe around the lake, or a cruise on a sailboat... and a bonfire complete with s'mores and maybe some skinny dipping when the sun sank. Oh... and make sure there are fireflies winking about too. The fireflies are a must. A babysitter for the wolf once the sun sank might be a necessity too... there are some activities from which furry girls should be barred, no matter how winsome they might be and how pink their tongues.

5. If you could go back and do your life over again starting at age
10 (and keeping all the knowledge you have right now), what would you
do differently?

Just one thing... I would never, ever have started smoking. That was a bad, stupid evil thing to do and I knew better even then (I was 19 when I started). And quitting was HARD! But I'd change nothing else... or how else would I arrive where I am now? And here is a pretty good place to be...

The Official Interview Game Rules

1. If you want to participate, leave a comment saying "interview me."

2. I will respond by asking you five questions - each person's will be different.

3. You will update your journal/blog with the answers to the questions.

4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview others in the same post.

5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.


Click here to add your comment [ 11 comments so far ]


last | next