2004-12-07 � drowning

Puddles

So yesterday, I opened my eyes to find a winter wonderland. First snowfall of the year. I bundled up the wolf, collected my frightfully ugly but pleasantly toasty snowboots from the basement and set off with my camera to carpe diem (sp? Latin is not my first language.) After collecting the Wolf's morning log and depositing it in the trash bin, I turned on my camera to snap at the snow which was lush and plentiful and glistening and perfect. And then gaped in open mouthed horror as the little red battery icon flashed feebly and the lens retreated grumpily back into my camera and the thing shut itself off. Crap poodles.

Today, of course, the batteries are recharged and sizzling with juice but the winter wonderland has dissolved in the pelting misery of rain. Rain, rain, rain and more rain. Running off the end of my nose, dripping from my sleeves, making my mascara run in that oh so becoming fashion. All the snow has melted away and so has my enchantment. I'm all a-puddle, drowning in the to-dos and the musts. argh.

On the bright side, I am completely enamored, indeed BESOTTED, with the iTunes music store, racking up the charges 99 cents at a time and rubbing my paws together greedily waiting for the next download. I'm like a rat in a Skinner Box, slapping that lever and jonesing for the next pellet. Visa actually called the hubster at work yesterday, wondering What Up? with the sudden rash of 99 cent charges on our Visa. wheeeeeeeeee!

Tune Tip: If you've been searching high and low (and I know you have) for the one song that will make you leap about like an epileptic with Tourettes' Syndrome and a bee in yer drawers frightening all who witness the spasmodic spectacle, might I recommend They Might Be Giants � Istanbul (not Constantinople)

Further Recommendations: Yeah Yeah Yeahs � Maps, Nina Simone � Feelin' Good, Green Day � Wake me Up When September Ends, Siouxsie and The Banshees � The Passenger (the Iggy Pop version is better, but they don't have it listed) and fer that holiday feeling: The Pretenders � 2000 Miles

sigh. Well, my luscious lollipops, back to the drawing board. Literally. Hopefully I'll be able to dash off something for Illustration Friday later this week! Peace out.


Click here to add your comment [ 11 comments so far ]


last | next