2004-11-30 � Odds and Sods and Happy, Happy Links

Sorting Thru the Sugar Plums...

O! Look at you, my little chickadees! I know what you're thinking. You're thinking it's about bloody time I updated! It's been like eleven days since I updated last. Holy monkey. I had no idea it had been that long. There was an actual, intentionally electron-free couple of days there where I was steadfastedly avoiding my computer, but honestly... I didn't intend to be gone for 11 days. I just got all distract-y. I'd be busting at the seams to tell you guys something and then the phone would ring or I'd have to run some minor errand and all bloggity thoughts would evacuate the moment my butt left this chair.

And then there was the Christmas shopping. I've been doing plenty o' christmas shopping. I'm two thirds finished! And it's not even December first yet! You have no idea how impressed with myself I am. This is so completely un-Wee. This is totally unprecedented. This might actually mean that I will not be racing around soul-less malls on Dec.24th, sodden with perspiration and panic. How very refreshing!

And last week was a rocking drawing week. I had the good hands. It was all free and easy and productive. And that was really refreshing too 'cuz the three weeks previous to that?! Not so good. And I have to make hay while the sun is shining, you know? So that's a few of the reasons why I wasn't making with the awe inspiring updates.

But now I'm left with a handful of completely disparate thoughts that I have to shed before I can move on to real posts with actual beginnings, middles and endings and stuff. SO... I hereby commence with the shedding:

Random Bit the First: Okay. I'm sure by now everyone in the Free World knows that Julia Roberts, the chick with about 40 extra teeth in her mouth, gave birth to her twins yesterday. Or maybe it was the day before. I dunno. Recently! And I'm sure you also know that she's decided she won't be outdone by the Gwyneth Paltrows with their shiny baby Apples or Madonna with her Lolas and her Rockys and has given her babies weird, alien baby names. Phinneaus and Hazel. Now, personally, I don't mind Phinneaus (not sure how she's spelling it). It's kind of like Finnegan, a name I'm very partial too owing to my darling doggity and a certain Mr. Dress-up puppet dog for whom that darling doggity is named. But Hazel? Eeeewww.

Anyway, this turn of events gave rise to this conversation yesterday morning as I drove Jack to the train station:

Me: I don't mind Phinneas so much. They can always call him Finn and that's just, you know, adorable. But come on now.. Hazel? Hazel? Who names their kid Hazel? It's an old lady name. A creepy old lady name. Like Maud or Aggie. It's a spinster name.

Jack: (in mock horror) Spinster? A spinster name? Who uses words like spinster nowadays?!!

Me: Precisely. See? I'm all harkening back to the dark ages when women wore steel corsets and frilly aprons and high heels to vacumn in and everyone worried about spinsterdom.

Jack: (all thoughtful) Well, let's face it. Those kids are never going to have to worry about money for as long as they live. Maybe that's it. Maybe Julia figured that she had to saddle them with weird names to provide some kind of adversity in their lives. Cuz you've got to have a little adversity in your life, you know?!

sigh. swoon. He's so wise and philler-soft-ical, that man o' mine.

Random Bit the Second: Do you watch the The Gilmore Girls? If you don't, man! Let me tell you! You are soooooo missing out. The Gilmore Girls is like the BEST SHOW ever. Almost. Next to Alias that is. And Six Feet Under. And Buffy. Well, it's like right up there anyway. Though, granted, last week's episode wasn't THAT spectacular. But the week before? When Mrs. Kim found out Lane and that guy in her band? her roomate? (Zack? Is his name Zack?) were dating?! O, priceless!! Really. I just about peed my pants with the ecstasy of it all. And this line has been going through my head practically hourly ever since:

"...But Mrs. Kim says french fries are the Devil's starchy fingers!"

O! O! That Mrs. Kim. She slays me.

Random Bit the Third: I believe I've already mentioned that I was shopping like a mad thing last week. Well, everyone knows that in order to keep the shopping frenzy going, to keep the wheels of greed greased, one must constantly bribe themselves with tiny little rewards. In my case, this usually takes the form of A&W onion rings. But last week it took on inedible forms too. I bought myself a new calendar for 2005 illustrated by artist Silke Leffler and I'm so in love with this thing!!! This is the best link that I could find to her: Silke Leffler but it doesn't really do her work justice. Although the English translation (from German I think) is pretty hilarious. So I tried to scan in a sample. My scan is not great either, but here goes:


Random Bit the Fourth: Silke Leffler's work reminded me a bit of another artist, Patience Brewster and I found this great site about her: Patience Brewster


... and that's almost all I've got, except...

Random Bit the Best: Penelope's incredible Illustration Friday site is up! Woo-hoo! and it has forums! where you can chat! About Illustration! And it has me grinning my fool head off and thinking that if I get nothing else for Christmas except a lump of coal and a rotten carrot, I'll still be happy 'cuz this is such an incredible gift in and of itself!!! 'course now I'll never get anything done because I'll be too busy haunting the art forum. But whatever! Rejoice! Rejoice!


Click here to add your comment [ 9 comments so far ]


last | next