2004-03-22 � Scrap Girl gets a Nosebleed


some smallish spidery scribbles and my splash down hands

Just sneezed five times in as many minutes. You don't think...?! Nah. couldn't be. How long do you suppose pussy willow fluff could survive and flourish in moist nasal cavities?

My nose has been doing odd things recently. On Saturday, I bent my head over a note pad to scribble down a website address and a coin-shaped scarlet splash hit the back of my hand followed quickly by more angry dots. It was easily staunched, but weird. I don't recall having a nosebleed...well, EVER.

Behold my latest creation. I call her Scrap Girl in a puddle. She represents a whole new direction for me. Lately, like in the past three weeks, inspired in part by a newly discovered favourite artist, Marcel Dzama , my incidental doodles (the ones I do everywhere, on napkins and the backs of prescriptions and flyers from Pizza Hut) have become teeny, spidery things cluttered with curliques and winged beasties and various odd bits of flora and fauna. I like it. It's kinda odd, arty, forlorn and fun, and just a bit creepy, which is generally how I like things to be. I'd say it's far from being an all out style... just a passing fancy, really. Right now anyway. But I think I shall follow my spidery scribblings and see where they lead me.

Have much to share, but no time to share it at the moment. Don't you hate that? It's like when people call just to tell you they have no time to talk. Makes me crazy. Like why even bother then? But I really do have to scoot... the Handsome Guy will soon be arriving at the train station expecting to find his golden chariot awaiting and his golden chariot driver (uh, that would be me) behind the wheel.

But the weekend was really quite wonderful (aside from the disturbing nosebleed) and I can't recommend Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind enough. Loved it. Odd, Arty, Fun, Forlorn and just a bit Creepy. You know... just how I like it.


Click here to add your comment [ 12 comments so far ]


last | next