2003-07-29 � Slamming!

The Bruised and the Brainless

O darlings! In a flagrant display of staggerring stupidity, I squashed all the fingers on my right hand in the garage door yesterday afternoon, squashed 'em good. Like flat. Literally. And purple. 'twas not smart. 'twas, in fact, exceedingly dumb. Especially as I need them for the drawing and stuff.

See, the garage door has been sticking ever since we painted it a couple of weekends ago. After stashing a bulging garbage bag inside to await Thursday's trash pick up, i decided to investigate and see if I could figure out what exactly is causing the door to stick.

So with my right hand gripping the lowest door panel at the hinge, and my left hand griping the bottom door handle, I was rolling it up and down, inspecting the tracks on the side, looking for spots which might stick.

Up was not a problem. Down, however... O LORD! Red rockets of pain, stars circling my head, and cartoon birdies cheep-cheep-chirping their fool heads off!

I did one of those completely soundless screams, my eyes clenched tight, my mouth wrenched open, a gaping cavity of huge throbbing pain as I fumbled blindly for the handle, easing it up, up, up and off my painfully pinched fingers... and continued soundlessly shrieking for another fifteen minutes as I danced in the door waving my crushed digits at Jack, tears streaming down my cheeks.

They were smooshed flat. Literally. and all white at first. Then pink. Then violent screaming purple. With fierce magenta dots in the nail beds.

I thought I might lose the finger nail on my index finger last night, but today, I'm pretty sure it's going to stay attached. They still hurt though... they're still quite purple and throbby. But I can draw, thank god.

In other news, I saw the prettiest dragon fly ever while on the wolf walk this morning. It was all iridescent bottle green, slim and shimmery with velvety black wings elegantly tipped in the same bottle green. Actually, i think it might be a damsel fly, not a dragon fly. According information gleened from my google search, damsel flies are just like dragon flies but smaller and slighter.


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next