2002-09-05 � wolf woes

wolf woes

o, people. my little wolf is sick, and that's making me sick too. And terrified and anxious and ready to sell my soul to the first person/demon/angel/miracle worker/entity that restores her to perfect health.

She began vomiting rather violently last evening around 6:30 and has continued through the night. Nothing else appears to be wrong, I'll know more later this afternoon. She's still at the vet's office having X-rays and blood work done. Maybe it's a virus, maybe it's the asprin I've been giving her for a back problem, maybe it's a bone chip or something weird and delicious that she just had to scarf down. maybe it's something else altogether, I don't know. All I know is that she has to get better and fast, because this is just hideous. And Jack and I are at home, wringing ourselves wretched with worry.

She is absolutely essential to my happiness and well being. She's the furry center of my universe and I love her to a ridiculous degree. I simply can't tolerate her suffering even the slightest bit. She's going to be okay. She HAS TO BE OKAY!

So please,please, take a moment and summon every good, hopeful, health-restoring, sunshiney vibe you can and direct it towards my darling baby dog, my beautiful Finnegan Jane (Finn for short). Please please and thank you.


4:41 pm Update
I finally got to talk to the vet and get an update on Finn's condition. They are still waiting the results of one test (pancreatic enzymes), but her blood panel has come back normal.

Red and white blood cells are fine, platelets are normal, electrolytes are normal, potassium is a little low and they will monitor that, but it could just be a result of all the vomitting. Liver and kidneys check out normally.

X-rays show some gas, but no other (X-rayable) objects. unfortunately, a lot of her favorite snack items ...sticks, plastic bits, tennis balls, socks, burs, kleenex, etc. etc. .... don't show up on X-rays. But she has not vomited since leaving the emergency clinic at 7:30 this morning, so this is still postive news.

They're keeping her overnight to continue IV treatment of fluids and antibiotics. And the vet is suppose to call me when they get the results of her pancreatic enzyme level test (or whatever they call it).

Feeling some relief although still plenty anxious. Have been a nervous wreck all day, unable to do much but vacumn aimlessly.

Jack left for work at 11:00, leaving me to cope with my anxiety sans both furry AND human center of universe. Scoured the net for any and all vetrinary advice regarding doggy vomit, but vomiting is a symptom of just about everything horrendous and after two hours of frenzied surfing, I realized I'm just terrorizing myself even further and forced myself to take a shower and eat lunch. Then began cleaning frenzy in effort to do something with all my panicked energy.

Am aware that some of you maybe thinking "it's only a dog" but she is soooo much more than that to me and frankly, I don't care what anyone else thinks. I love her truly, madly, deeply. The only thing I am concerned about at this moment is her health and well-being and Jack.

Poor sweet Jack who is in total scramble mode at work, fraying at his handsome edges as he approves this lighting set up and that set and this location and that stupid promo and that freaking producer and on and on. It's fall launch time again, always the most stressful time of the year for him. And lest i've forgotten to mention it, I also love him truly, madly, deeply and can't wait for him to come home today.

please continue all your positive vibing. Wee me is lost without her wolf. Utterly. Completely.


5:59 p.m. Update
Pancreas enzymes came back normal. They're giving her water tonight and will start her on soft foods tommorrow a.m. if all goes well. They haven't ruled out a "soft obstruction" completely yet. May also be irritation due to bacon I fed her (the GUILT), the asprin for her back or a virus. But I'm much comforted now. Cross your fingers for a good night. Must go report good news to my parents who have been chewing their fingernails all day as well and then pick up J. at train station.


2002-09-06 10:44 a.m.

It appears that the Wolf is on the road to recovery! She kept her water down overnight and was given soft foods this morning which she ate readily and has kept down so far.

They will monitor this afternoon and if she manages to refrain from vomiting, I'll be able to bring her home at 4:00.

O, I do hope this whole episode is over! The house seems so empty and quiet and weird without her. But I'm feeling much relief over this news and SOOOO ready for my life to return to normal!


Click here to add your comment [ 0 comments so far ]


last | next